People and Operations

DarkSky Missouri is a state-wide chapter divided into operating zones to ensure all areas of the state are supported.


People and Operations


Operating Zones

IDA Missouri Operating Zones
IDA Missouri Operating Zones

With the goal of making a “state-wide” chapter, IDA Missouri is subdivided Missouri into operating zones.  Our forward strategy and ongoing operations make every effort to consider each zone.  A key to our success with be recruiting champions for each zone.

Board of Directors

DarkSky Missouri holds board meetings on the third Thursday of the odd months of each year.   The board meeting schedule is as follows:

  • For 2024: 1/18, 3/21, 5/16, 7/18, 9/19, and 11/21.

DarkSky Missouri Board members serve for a term of three years and cannot serve for more than two (2) consecutive full three-year terms of office without a break in service of at least one (1) year.  Board terms are divided into three classes which are staggered to expire in different years to help ensure continuity of the Board.  

DarkSky Missouri has thirteen board members as follows:

Zone 1 - North Region:

Zone 2 - St. Louis Region:

Zone 3 - Southeast Region:

Zone 4 - Lakes Region:

Zone 5 - Kansas City Region:

Zone 6 - Central Region:

  • No representatives.

Board Officers

Our chapter officers are as follows:

  • Chapter Chair, Vayu Gokhale, Ph.D., Kirksville, MO - Term expires 11/30/2024
  • Chapter Vice-Chair, Stephanie Todd, Olivette, MO - Term expires 11/30/2024 
  • Chapter Secretary, Daphne Zakarian, Kirksville, MO - Term expires 11/30/2024
  • Chapter Treasurer, Don Ficken, St. Louis, MO - Term expires 11/30/2024

Board Nominating Committee

Our chapter has a nominating committee consisting of past chapter chairs.  This committee will grow as our chapter grows.

  • Chapter Founder/Past-Chapter Chair, Don Ficken, Kirkwood, MO

Chapter Advisors

Our chapter has access to expertise from DarkSky International but we believe it important to draw our experts from Missouri to provide more advice specific to our state.  Accordingly, we are recruiting subject matters experts from around Missouri: 




Our Mission

The mission of DarkSky Missouri is to raise awareness about light pollution issues in Missouri, promote quality outdoor lighting, protect our natural environment and our beautiful night sky, and educate the public how reducing light pollution can lower energy costs.